Transfer Projects

In Abtrac you can transfer a project from one client to another using the project transfer function.

This feature is most commonly used where:

  • a project has been assigned to an incorrect or duplicate client
  • or where a project managed via a referral/intermediary client can now be managed directly.

It is not possible to merge two projects/jobs belonging to the same client.

This article is for AbtracOnLine, follow this link for the Abtrac 5 version

In AbtracOnLine from Clients, Contacts & Projects choose >  Project Transfer.

Transferring a project to another client is not easily reversible and can be complex.

Each project has a number of data entries associated with it. In any ‘Job box’ you will have timesheet lines, disbursements, and invoices that may also need to be moved.

In the three most common scenarios where a project needs to be transferred you can move everything, move nothing (but re-use the project number for a new client), or complete a partial move.

It is not possible to merge two projects/jobs belonging to the same client. But if you do need to transfer project data whilst keeping it assigned to the same client you can do so by editing individual records from Bulk Edit Timesheets and if required by creating adjustment journal invoices to keep the integrity of original data.

There are five steps to transferring a project.

  1. Choose the ‘from’ Client for the transfer
  2. Select the Project to transfer from the list available
  3. Choose your transfer method – Move Everything, Move Nothing or a Partial Move
  4. Choose the Client you are transferring the project to (you may need to create a new client in Abtrac before starting the transfer process)
  5. Select the Green Project Transfer button.

You’ll be asked to confirm the project transfer, and your transfer options will also be confirmed.

Move Everything
Transfer the project, all invoices and all time and disbursements to the new client.

The confirmation message will detail the project number moved, and the client number you are moving to. It will also specify that invoices and all time will be transferred.

The transfer may take some time – depending on the volume of data being moved.

When the process has completed you’ll receive a confirmation message, you will also see the transferred project has moved to the list on the right hand column in the transfers screen.

For any transferred project it’s worthwhile reviewing any project specific details and updating these details for the new client if required:

  • project tasks
  • billing details
  • project name
  • project status
  • billable status

Move Nothing

Leave all time and disbursements and all invoices already raised with the old client, creating a duplicate project number with the new client.

The confirmation message will detail the project number moved, and the client number you are moving to. It will also specify that invoices and time will not be transferred. Because you are leaving project data behind a ‘dummy project’ will be created for the original client.

What does the ‘Dummy Project’ in the confirmation message mean?

The original project is renamed and the project number is reused. The original project has the same project number but is now appended with the words “Trans to [Client ID]”.

In the screenshot below you can now see two projects named “4 May Avenue”, for two different clients.

When a dummy project is created you will need to be careful that time is entered against the correct client and project.

To avoid time being entered against the original project we recommend that you go back and make the original project non-current when completing a move nothing, or partial project transfer.

Partial Move
Leave existing invoices and assigned time and disbursements with the old client but move all unbilled WIP to the new client, creating a duplicate project number with the new client.

As with moving nothing when completing a partial move the original project is renamed and appended with the words “Trans to [Client ID]”.

To avoid time being entered against the original project we recommend that you go back and make the original project non-current when completing a partial project transfer.
Abtrac KB# 2083